Home : About Us : Directors : Former Directors Last updated on: 05-Aug-2021
<< Back

Former Directors

Shri P. Kunhikrishnan

Shri P. Kunhikrishnan[Tenure : 2018-2021]
Shri P. Kunhikrishnan, a Distinguished Scientist (Apex Scale) of Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) and Member of Space Commission, Govt. of India was Director, URSC from August 2018 to May 2021.

More ...

Dr. M Annadurai[Tenure : 2015-2018]
Dr M Annadurai, was Director, URSC from April 01, 2015 to July 31, 2018. Before taking over as Director, URSC, he was Programme Director for Indian Remote Sensing (IRS) and Small Satellite Systems (SSS) at URSC, Bengaluru.

More ...
Dr S K Shivakumar

Dr S K Shivakumar[Tenure : 2012-2015]
Late. Dr S K Shivakumar was the Director of URSC from July 2012 to March 2015. Dr. Shivakumar lead a team of more than 2500 engineers and scientist in the design, development and realization of state-of-the-art satellite missions including Mars Orbiter Mission, the first interplanetary mission and navigation satellite programme. He was the Associate Director of the centre from November, 2010 to June, 2012.

More ...
Dr T K Alex
Dr T K Alex[Tenure : 2008-2012]
Dr T K Alex, Member, Space Commission, was the Director of URSC from June 2008 to June 2012. He has accomplished many successful missions during his tenure as director which includes Chandrayaan-1, India's first mission to the Moon. Dr Alex has made significant contributions to the development of all Indian satellites starting from the very first Indian satellite Aryabhata.

More ...
Dr K N Shankara
Dr K N Shankara[Tenure : 2005-2008]
Late. Dr K N Shankara was the Director of URSC from June 2005 to May 2008. Prior to this, he was Director of Space Applications Centre (SAC) from 2002 to 2005. Starting his career at SAC in 1971, after his doctorate in Electrical Communication Engineering from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, he had made extensive contribution to the development of communication, navigation, earth & planetary observation, meteorological payloads and related data processing and ground systems.

More ...
Dr P S Goel
Dr P S Goel[Tenure : 1997-2005]
Dr P S Goel was the Director of URSC from November 1997 to May 2005. Starting his career from the RS-1 satellite, he held several seniorposition at URSC and also served as Associate Director of the centre. He was secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences from 2005 to 2008 and later Chairman RAC, DRDO.

More ...
Shri R Aravamudan
Shri R Aravamudan[Tenure : 1994-1997]
Late. Shri R Aravamudan was the first of Dr Vikram Sarabhai's handpicked engineers to join India's space programme in 1962. He was sent to NASA in Washington for training in rocketry and ground support. Later he became director of the Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station in the early 1970s. In the 1980s, he became Associate Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre. In 1989, he was made Director of Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC), SHAR. In 1994, he moved to Bangalore as Director of the U R Rao Satellite Centre .

More ...
Dr K Kasturirangan
Dr K Kasturirangan[Tenure : 1990-1994]
Dr. K. Kasturirangan was the Director of URSC from 1990 to 1994. From April 1994, he steered the Indian Space Programme for over 9 years as Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation, of Space Commission and Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of Space. He laid down his office as Chairman, ISRO on 27 August 2003.

More ...
Col N Pant
Col N Pant[Tenure : 1985-1990]
Late. Col N Pant was the Director of URSC from 1985 to 1990. Under his able leadership, four major satellite projects SROSS-1,IRS-1A,the SROSS-2 & INSAT-1C was realized. SROSS-1 was the first satellite in the stretched Rohini satellite series launched onboard the first development flight of ASLV.

More ...
Prof U R Rao
Prof U R Rao[Tenure : 1976-1985]
Late. Prof U R Rao was an internationally renowned space scientist who has made original contributions to the development of space technology in India and its extensive application to communications and remote sensing of natural resources.

More ...